James Madison University


In December 2017, the Department of Health Sciences was divided into two department - Health Sciences and Health Professions.

Prior to December 2017

The Department of Health Sciences is home to almost a dozen programs and approximately 1,800 majors. Forty plus full-time faculty members oversee our undergraduate programs in Athletic Training, Dietetics, Health Assessment and Promotion, Health Services Administration, Health Studies, Occupational Studies, and Public Health Education. Four graduate programs include Dietetics, Interdisciplinary Program in Nutrition and Physical Activity, Occupational Therapy, and Physician Assistant’s Studies. These programs are regularly evaluated and subject to internal and external reviews. All of our programs have received outstanding reviews, with many receiving exemplary ratings.


  • 12/12/17: The department has been divided into the Department of Health Sciences and the Department of Health Professions
  • How to declare a Health Sciences Major
  • December 9-15
    Final Examinations
  • December 15-16